Close this search box.

How to vote in my state

New Mexico

Upcoming Election Dates and Registration Deadlines

November 5, 2024

New Mexico General Election
Voter Registration Deadline
  • Received by: October 8, 2024
  • Same Day Registration & Voting: October 8 – November 5, 2024
Absentee Request Deadline
  • Received by: October 22, 2024
Completed Absentee Ballot Return Deadline
  • Received by: November 5, 2024 7:00PM
Early Voting: October 8 – November 5, 2024

Helpful Resources

to vote

Check if you are registered

What's on your

Absentee Voting

Any registered voter may vote absentee in New Mexico. Completed ballots must be received by 7 PM on Election Day.

See details of absentee voting and download the application here

Early Voting 

Early voting is available beginning 28 days before Election Day, ending the Saturday before Election Day. Check with your county clerk for locations and times.

See details of early voting here

What to Expect
on Election Day

On Election Day, polls are open from 7 AM to 7 PM local time. 

Find your polling location.


Voter ID Requirements

You do not need to show identification to vote on Election Day, unless you are a first time voter that registered to vote by mail and didn’t provide appropriate ID during registration.

Language Access

Section 203 of the Voting Rights Act requires certain jurisdictions to provide in-language voting materials in areas with a significant number of limited English proficient voters. 

Section 208

Section 208 of the Voting Rights Act states that, “Any voter who requires assistance to vote by reason of blindness, disability, or inability to read or write may be given assistance by a person of the voter’s choice, other than the voter’s employer or agent of the employer or office or agent of the voter’s union.” 

It is your right to bring your own interpreter to the polls, if you so choose. 

Have questions or need help voting?

Call 1-888-API-VOTE (1-888-274-8683).

Bilingual assistance is available in English, Mandarin, Cantonese, Korean, Vietnamese, Tagalog, Urdu, Hindi, and Bengali. Click here for more information.